快速登录:  

Forum: General Discussion

话题: My greatest dj challenge

由于该帖子已年深日久,可能包含陈旧过时或描述错误的信息。

I've been djing for about 2 years now, and have gotten pretty good at working my crowds, but tommorow night i have a unique challenge.
An organization is renting out a club, and throwing a party there. The people invited are all hip hop/rnb/down south fans. I'm used to this crowd. Play for them all the time. Now, the problem is the CLUB is a DANCEHALL club, and i'm now being told a large number of their regulars are showing up.

The problem is this. Americans (my main crowd), have a reggae/dancehall tolerance of 10/15 minutes. The carribean people/fans i'm told have an even lower tolerance for hiphop/rnb.

Hopefully between now and then the idea that lets me keep everyone happy will hit me.

It would be so much simpler if each group had more of a 50/50 or even 40/60 tolerance for the other's music.
Sadly, this is not the case. If you guys never hear from me again, I probably didnt make it out of the party alive.

Goodbye cruel world!

发表时间 Thu 20 Jul 06 @ 3:37 pm
DJ-ALFPRO InfinityModeratorMember since 2005
Don't worry, I do this "Mixed type" styles of people all the time and no problem at all! You just watch the crowd to sense what is the best to play at the moment. You have several options for this type of gig:
To satisfy your RNB people to the full (85% their music)
Or make it 50-50% like a machine, regardless what thay say.
You can't satisfy everyone in this type of gig, and that is nature. Don't worry, you will be back here alive!

发表时间 Thu 20 Jul 06 @ 4:24 pm
I think im going to try to satisfy the hiphop crowd (Since thats the private party audience). I wanted to do it all to maybe impress the owner into giving me a gig.

发表时间 Thu 20 Jul 06 @ 4:36 pm