快速登录:  

Forum: Old versions

话题: Wow and Flutter

由于该帖子已年深日久,可能包含陈旧过时或描述错误的信息。

tunicPRO InfinityMember since 2004
Hi all,

I'm guessing this is the place to post....I've just got my TC Vinyls and recently bought a pair of second hand Technics SL1200MK2s. I loaded up VDJ straight away the second I got in and started spinning - and very please with the control and response I get :o)

However, I am new to vinyl DJing having been using CDs for the last 15 months and VDJ on and off for 18 months. Hence I am used to the digital absolute and not to analogous abnomolies.

I've read elsewhere on this forum that I should probably expect a little wow and flutter, as in varying BPMs but I am unsure as to if I am getting an unusally high variation of BPMs. Between almost every other beat the variance is like from say 127.6 to 128.4 - that is a variation of nearly a whole BPM on every beat. It is not even consistent - sometimes it goes higher or lower. Is this usual? I notice the vinyl themselves seem to be bowed more than other records I have, specifically a pair of new records I bought the other day whilst waiting for my TCV to arrive. Could this affect it? Looking at the side profile it seems to go up and down quite a lot.

I was really struggling to keep to tracks in time when playing around earlier, although I must point out it I didn't spend huge amounts of time. But from my experience with CDs - 0.5% can make a lot of difference.

Does this look like the decks are in need of a good service, or is such a wide variation usual for Technics decks? I wouldn't particuarly want to get my decks fine tuned significantly beyond club configuration so if it is usual I will try to live with it. If not I will seek a local audio tech shops as soon as possible.