快速登录:  

Forum: Old versions

话题: Noob question about bitrates

由于该帖子已年深日久,可能包含陈旧过时或描述错误的信息。

tatjnaHome userMember since 2009
Disclaimer: I'm no kind of geek and quite new to both VDJ and understanding sound quality. I'm happy to do my own research but need some help to know where to look.

OK, the question. All of my music is in mp3 format. Some is downloaded and some ripped from CDs. I've noticed some of the downloaded files say in the hover-over file info that they have bitrates up to 656kbps - yet when played through VDJ the file info says 128kbps. At this point I'm not experienced enough to be able to really spot sound quality differences, but I'm aware that 128 isn't considered that great, so I'd be disappointed to find that these files are actually 128 and too crappy to play. I've also done a bit of research and found the highest mp3 bitrate mentioned on the internet is 320kbps, which makes me suspicious of the claim of 656..

I don't know how to find out whether they are CBR or VBR files.

Anyway, I'd like to know why the variation in bitrate reading - in Media Player they show up the same as in the hover-over info, but it changes as soon as I use VDJ. Another thing about these files - they all came in either a .zip or .rar format. The .zip ones even claimed on the site to have this extremely high bit rate (possibly more fool me for believing it without research). But I'm wondering if the decompression of the files may have something to do with the weird bitrate reading change. I've kept the compressed folders in case there's a way of decompressing them that fixes this. Files ripped from CDs keep a constant bitrate no matter where I play them.

Example tracks:

12:11 minutes, 656kbps, 22.6MB (downloaded as .zip, plays in VDJ as 128kbps)
07:13 minutes, 256kbps, 13.2MB (ripped from CD, plays in VDJ as 256kbps)

Any advice, pointers to places where I can learn more, or even derisive laughter followed by 'here's how you fix it' would be greatly appreciated.