快速登录:  

Forum: General Discussion

话题: Volume levels of tracks driving me nuts

由于该帖子已年深日久,可能包含陈旧过时或描述错误的信息。

Song 1: At full volume, Atomix reports -16.2db
Song 2: At full volume, Atomix reports -20.5db

Playing song 1 - wanting to mix into song 2?? HOW???

Unfortunately because I can't boost the volume in song 2 to match the -16.2db in song 1, it kinda puts me in a problem zone... The song I am mixing into will not sound as good because the previous song over-powers it.

Any suggestions?

I heard that normalizing all my mp3 files could help me with this?

But I am new to the whole "normalization" thing, and so I have no idea what 80% or 100% means, so I would have no idea what I would need to do to either of the above files to make them match.

Are there any good tools out there for normalizing mp3's? Do I have to convert them to WAV first? Or maybe they are working on a volume booster or auto normalizer in the next version of atomix?? :)

发表时间 Sat 10 Feb 01 @ 6:06 am
Some temporary fixes

- When you start mixing, set first song volume level to 33% - 50% of full level.. now when there's song with low volume level, you have now room to boost it playing at 100%

- Use a external mixer and use it's gain adjustment for boosting the song.

- Suggest a gain pot to be added to next atomixmp3 version for over boosting the song. (This will cause peaks to clip if peaks are already "normalized".. There will be need for compression for clipping then, propably too complicated to be added very soon)

I personally suggest to use the first suggestion of starting mixing with half levels in atomix!

Using two soundcards & external mixer has some bug that makes other cards output sound 22khz or 8bit or something.. I dunno if it's just my card (got 2x SB64PCI other being chipset 1370 and other 1371)..

发表时间 Sat 10 Feb 01 @ 10:06 pm
Well what I do is set the master volume at say -23db
and then most songs i can manually match the volumes to that since its pretty soft.