快速登录:  

Forum: Music discussion

话题: Can somebody help with this ?

由于该帖子已年深日久,可能包含陈旧过时或描述错误的信息。

If this issue has been addressed before, please redirect me to the topic, I cannot find it anywhere. Thanks.

So I am rather new at djing, and I have sort of a noob problem, I guess.
I mixed a lot of music with VDJ and I keep seeing this problem.

I open the mix in A Audition and see that at the transition time, the volume of the whole thing rises.
I have many other mixes, made by professional djs, and their sets are flawless ! The volume stays the same during the whole mix.

The thing I kept seeing after an hour of search on google, is that I should "play" with the gain.
I don't understand how the gain thing works. Can someone explain to me please ? I would be forever grateful.
Or just point me out to some tutorials that DO explain. I swear I did my research on this but I cannot find any useful informations.
Maybe I just suck at google.

Thanks again, peace.

*edit, the tracks I use have the same volume, so that's not the issue*

发表时间 Mon 07 May 12 @ 6:44 am
the gain just sets the volume for a paticular channel or deck, the volume slider can only work within the range of the gain... Other dj's probably:

a) have better trained ears
b) better speakers to hear the difference
c) use external compressors to set the dynamic range
d) use post production wave editors like Audition to change the volume when it gets too low

the first one takes time, the next two take money... the last one you can do now... just highlight and amplify the quieter sections trying to blend the levels then run a light compressor over the entire mix.

Mastering techniques are an artform, but there is plenty of youtube to help you understand what compressors do to the audio.

发表时间 Mon 07 May 12 @ 7:16 am
@synthet1c