快速登录:  

Forum: Music discussion

话题: Mixing help

由于该帖子已年深日久,可能包含陈旧过时或描述错误的信息。

Hi guys

I am pretty new at using VDJ and im getting decent at mixing songs. However my main concern is although i can mix the intro & outro of songs, sometimes not even waiting for the outro, what else can i do in between? I see DJ's in clubs and it looks like they are constantly doing things, where as when i try, i find myself waiting doing nothing in between songs. Any help from club DJ's like you would be appreciated :) and anyone else.

Thanks

发表时间 Wed 07 Sep 11 @ 8:47 pm
I'm not a club DJ, but I do a number of things while I'm mixing.

Anyone can fade one song into another -- There are plenty of software applications that do that automatically (even itunes does it).

There are a number of things I do to manipulate the songs I'm playing so that they're not so stagnate.

Cutting in between tracks is probably the most bare bones thing to do while on the board:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rblflLpfblc

This is by far the best video I've found, and it features the Numark Mixtrack, which is probably one of the most popular starter boards here.

It should be fairly easy to follow, but it's also important to remember that djing is also ~10% visual. So it's very possible that the excessive amount of board work is just the DJ being "in the zone" and fiddling with the EQ and Fader to stay concentrated, not to mention look more DJish, even if it's not entirely "necessary".

Then again the type of mixing their doing is important to consider as well. If they're scratching their hands are gonna be all over the place. If they're mixing in their own affects (i.e not pre-recorded into the track being play) then they're going to be hands on all the time.

Think "stick-shift" vs "automatic".

I hope that helps a little.

Good luck!

Disclaimer: I am by no means an expert, but I like to lend my experience to others when I can. Feel free to comment otherwise if you feel I've said something wrong.