快速登录:  

Forum: Old versions

话题: Exporting mappers from VDJ 6 on Win XP

由于该帖子已年深日久,可能包含陈旧过时或描述错误的信息。

Hi all

I am a newbie to this forum.

I use a MIDI controller with VDJ (on WinXP) and have used the auto-learn feature to build a mapping for myself that I really like. However, I want to know if it is possible to export this mapping (to an XML/DLL?) and then transfer the mapping to another laptop (also running WinXP).

If this is possible, can someone please outline the process for me (for both generating the export file, as well as installing it in the new laptop)?

If it is any use, I built the mapping from the skeleton of another XML mapping that I had. However, the changes I made in the auto-learn have not reflected back onto the XML, and I don't know how to generate another XML.

Would greatly appreciate any help.

Meanwhile, I have another doubt too. How does VDJ associate a device definition with a controller? Eg. my device definition file states Device name = " BCD3000" (along with the rest of the line - author, type, decks, etc). Is this enough for VDJ to recognize the device, or is there something else going on in the background that I am missing? Also, if I have two mappers for the same controller in the Mappers folder, how does VDJ identify which one to use?

Thanks for your help, guys. Looking forward to learning a lot here.

Thanks
Sid

发表时间 Tue 09 Feb 10 @ 11:33 pm
SBDJPRO Infinity Member since 2006
The mapping is already stored as an XML file, it will be in the "My Documents\VirtualDJ\Mappers" folder. Any time you edit a default mapping it will appear in this folder.

There are two files associated with controllers. One is the device definition file (in "My Documents\VirtualDJ\Devices" (for natively supported controllers this is built in and not visible to users) and one is the mapper file.